Travel Tuesdays: Barcelona

IMG_6389

It’s the things that terrify us that turn out to be the most worthwhile. I was shaking the entire time, especially when it came time to go back down, but I can say one thing without hesitation– it was worth it!

Paris was a dream but after spending three weeks, two of which were full of rain, exploring it,  I was ready to explore somewhere new and the first stop to check off the list was Barcelona! So we packed up our things and left at 4am to the airport ready for the Spanish sun.

IMG_0447

This was the first thing we saw, when we exited the metro on our way to our hostel. It’s like something out of a fairytale and was designed by Antoni Gaudi, the famous spanish architect.

Barcelona was everything I imagine it would be and more. Stepping out of the metro as we made our way to our hostel located along Passeig de Gràcia, the atmosphere made me feel as if I were finally home. It’s an odd feeling to explain and one that I don’t fully understand but there was just something in the air that made me instantly comfortable. I felt like a native and although I was lugging my life, contained within the purple walls of my suitcase, with me through the chic, crowded streets, there was a giant sense of belonging that will always remind me of my time in Barcelona and the incredibly welcoming people there. We stayed at Casa Gracia and by far it was my favorite hostel. It was styled beautifully allowing for touches of the past and future to merge seamlessly. From the modern bathrooms covered in frosted glass to the old fashion elevator and scatter vintage pieces throughout the hallways, it was an incredible experience within itself. I definitely recommend it to anyone stopping by Barcelona!

IMG_0433

We decided to take a walk and discovered that the beach was next to a boat dock, which instantly made me think of home as I live by the piers. It was nice to sit back and watch as the boats left or returned from adventure.

Nicole (my travel buddy) grew up by the beach so after weeks in rain she was having beach withdrawals, so we hoped on the metro and headed to the local beach. It was different from what I expected but beautiful none the less. We had the chance to eat and enjoy the sunshine we had missed! It was nice to finally be surrounded by people speaking a language I understood perfectly!(Thank you mom!) I’ve studied french for years but I grew up speaking spanish and it was a lot easier to manage knowing the local language.

IMG_0527

One of my favorite pieces from the park overlooking the heart warming city. The bright blue in the back is the water and the light blue, the stunning sky. It was an experience unlike any other hanging out a couple feet above the city.

After spending a couple of hours at the beach, we returned and decided to explore Park Guell which is located in the upper part of Barcelona and has some incredible views of the city. It was designed by Antoni Gaudi and was literally like taking a walk through a magic kingdom. Beautiful beyond belief and although I’m terrified of heights, it was worth all the stairs and shaking knees to the top because the view was breathtaking and will forever be engrained in my mind. Pops of mosaic combine beautifully with the lush green of the trees and made it a must see for me. If you are ever in Barcelona, stop by and explore it for a bit! You won’t regret it!

Barcelona left me with an abundance of warmth and love that I will cherish forever. From the people I met to the sights I explored, it was a breathe of fresh air and comfort, I didn’t realize I needed. I’ve always loved to travel and explore but Barcelona reminded me that home is just as incredible and special. It’s definitely a place I can’t wait to go back and spend more time exploring!

Where do you hope to explore and travel to one day? Leave it in the comments below, I’d love to hear it!

Be Bold, Be Brave, Be-YOU-tiful

blog sign.


Leave a Reply

