100 Days Later

100 happy days logoA couple months ago, I decided to embark on the 100 Happy Days challenge. It pushed me to find at least one thing to be grateful for, in awe of, amazed by and simply put happy for every day for 100 straight. Now, I’m a positivity enthusiast set on exploring the world around me and thus I foolishly thought this challenge wouldn’t be much of a challenge. Boy, was I wrong.

Everyone wants to be happy, to be at peace with themselves and the lives they have but setting out to find a spark of that every day wasn’t as easy as I believed it to be. See, the problem before wasn’t that I was depressed or super stressed but rather that I had gotten so busy and overwhelmed that I no longer took the time to notice the little things that made life incredible.I got caught up and blindsided by all that I wanted to and had to do that I no longer focused on what I was doing and the incredible wonders that popped in and out of my daily routine.

Now, I don’t claim to know much about life but if there’s one thing that I learned from this experiencethe trick as a whole it is that the secret to being happy is accepting our place in life and making the most out of it everyday. Everything we’ve always wanted is just waiting to be discovered, scattered and sprinkled into our day-to-day lives. Life has a funny way of working itself out and although sometimes we’re left wondering what the joke was, eventually we get it and laugh.

The key is to always seek that laugh, that moment of bliss that in mist of all the chaos makes us realize that for some insane reason the cards we’ve been dealt were meant for us because we would know how to work with them best. It’s definitely not the easiest thing to do but this challenge helped me realize that it’s possible.

I can go on and on about all the reasons why I think everyone should give this challenge a chance. It wasn’t as simple as I first thought but it helped me realize habits I had to work on and others I needed to develop more in order to appreciate all the blessings I’ve been given and continue to receive. I’ve convinced a handful of friends to embark on their own happiness journey and hope if you all are in need of a bit of inspiration you give it a chance as well.

Personally, I know I learn and grow the most when I’m the one doing the action and reflecting back on the experience overall. My 100 days of happiness took place on Instagram but if you join the movement you can use twitter, Facebook, and even email if you want to keep it a bit more personal. You can learn more about it at 100 Happy Days. If you want to know a bit more about my experience, you can check it out on Instagram @noreader or by checking the hash tag #hopelesslyoptimistic. Below are just some pictures of the adventure! Let me know what you think in the comments below and if you’re taking on the challenge leave your Instagram or Twitter, I’d love to follow along!

 

IMG_3104

Day 1: I started this adventure with a motivational vision broad made from a huge stack of magazines, torn and stitched together, and hung in the center of my room. I love keeping positive energy around and getting to make it and pick what to use made it all the better.

 

IMG_4349

Day 63: Sometimes we believe that exploring involves traveling to some distant land but really all it is, is looking at the world around us with awe and discovering the magic sprinkled in between.

IMG_3704

Day 38: I’m a New Yorker and thus I’m always stuck in traffic but sometimes it gives us a chance to appreciate the beauty we constantly drive past

IMG_0014

Day 72: I’m absolutely in love with sunsets and getting the chance to catch them always reminds me to appreciate the little things in life, remember life is simple. It’s people who complicate the process.

IMG_3834

Day 44: Now the spring is full of rain and while it tends to get a bit annoying after a week of water falling from the sky, it does make for beautiful puddle shots and the photographer in me couldn’t help but be pleased.

IMG_5055

Day 83: A day at the park with friends always makes for a good time and bringing along a Polaroid camera to record the adventure makes it just that much more entertaining.

IMG_5220

Day 92: I’m not a fan of taking pictures of myself but when you have photographer friends they make you awkwardly pose because they see it before they take it and a world of laughter induces.

IMG_5350

Day 98: I was lucky enough to hop on a plane and head to paris to begin the summer of a lifetime exploring 6 countries and 16 beautiful cities. I am forever grateful for all the opportunities I’ve been blessed with.

IMG_5421

Day 100: I celebrated my 100th day underneath the Eiffel Tower and it is a memory I hold close and dear to my heart. I never thought that I would get the chance to explore Europe so soon in my life and I am constantly reminded of how beautiful and special this world truly is. Thank you all for being a part of my journey!

 

 Be Bold Be Brave Be-YOU-tiful

blog sign.

Leave a Reply

