Paris: Week One

Top of Notre Dame

Top of Notre Dame

Enchanted, that is how I feel. Enraptured, entranced, and fascinated. This city was everything I thought it would be and so much more. It’s beautiful. From the backstreet lanes to the main attractions, it is breathtaking. At times, I stop and realize that I am in Paris, a city I never thought I would be in so soon in my life. Yet, here I am and there are a couple things I’ve learned that I thought I should share.

  • Bring a sweater!

o   France is a lot chillier than I thought it would be. Maybe it was a bit naïve, but since I’m backpacking with friends after my photography program, I packed lightly. Meaning the picture perfect image in my mind of this trip left out packing for the probability of rain and cold mornings. Yet, I’ve managed and scarves have become my best friend but I would recommend bring a light sweater or a raincoat when traveling in the early summer months through Paris.

Metro Station

Metro Station

  • Explore and Take the Metro

o   The metro isn’t complicated at all. Now I’m a New Yorker at heart and subways have never been hard for me but even if you semi-understand the New York Subway system, you’ll get the Paris Metro fairly quickly. It’s also super clean and passes every couple minutes. It can get you to the other side of the city in a flash and is fairly priced. That being said walking throughout the city allows you to explore on a completely different level and I recommend doing it as well!

  • Get a map and get lost.
Love Lock Corner

Love Lock Bridge

o   Now I’ve spent most of my time in Paris in the Saint Germain area and it is definitely one of the nicer areas in Paris. Make sure to do your research because some areas aren’t the best, especially for tourist that don’t know the in and outs of the area. That being said there is so much to do on every corner of the city that staring at a map and trying to figure out where to go will just get you overwhelmed and annoyed. Breathe and explore.

  • Don’t over plan; leave room for adventure!

o   Create a flexible plan for the day. Think about places you want to hit and map out a journey to them. Don’t stay strongly attached to the plan as some of the best gems I’ve found are hidden along the journey to places I wanted to head to in the first place. Allow your self to discover those gems and know every aspect of the city!

Below are a few images from my first week in Paris. It’s still so surreal to me that I’m in Paris and can’t be more grateful for all the opportunities I’ve been given.

Hidden at Paris Flea Markets

Hidden at Paris Flea Markets

Top of Notre Dame

Top of Notre Dame

Jardin du Luxembourg

Jardin du Luxembourg

Left Bank

Left Bank

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower

I hope you’re all having an incredible summer thus far and are finding the beauty and adventure hidden around you. Comment below about anything you might want to see next! Until next time!

sig.

Leave a Reply

