Liebster Award

Image

When I started my blog, I never thought people would actually read it. In essence it was like my life was a blank canvas and I just wanted to fill it with a kaleidoscope of color. I wanted for anyone who stumbled across my little bit of this world to stop and breathe and leave feeling a little lighter then when they arrived. Recently, the lovely Chantelle Wong and Ngozi have nominated me for the Liebster Award and I couldn’t be more grateful so I wanted to say a huge thank you to them, I sincerely appreciate it!

So what is the Liebster Award?

It’s kind of like a welcome to the blogging community. The Liebster award is passed to up and coming bloggers that have just gotten their start in the blogosphere. It works the way a chain letter does helping each blogger develop their platform and connect with other audiences they might not have been able to before. Each nominee has to answer 10 random questions from the person who nominated them, and then tag 10 more bloggers (with under 200 followers) with 10 questions of their own. As this keeps going, it allows for us to get to know another side of our fellow bloggers and develop a bigger, more welcoming community. I hope this all made sense. Now on to my answers, if you have anymore questions or would like to know more feel free to ask!

Chantelle’s Questions:

  • What made you start blogging?

When I first came up with the idea of starting a blog, I kept flip-flopping and couldn’t bring myself to be that open with strangers who I would most likely not ever meet. Yet, one of my friends got me this book called Blog INC by Joy Cho (highly recommend it!) because especially as a journalism major I needed to have something to show. Plus my debating about it was driving her crazy. After reading her book, I was inspired and it all just went from there.

  • What is your dream?

Honestly, all I ever want to be in life is happy. I’ve been blessed with many gifts and I couldn’t be more grateful. Sure, I have a list of goals that I wish to accomplish but they mean nothing to me if I’m not happy at the end of it all. That’d be my dream, to live a life of happiness but for more detailed ideas check out my bucket list.

  • Favorite food?

I have a HUGE sweet tooth so it’s not really food but I absolutely adore ice cream. I swear my body has reprogrammed itself and can live off it especially cookies and cream.

  • What do you do during the weekends?

My weekends tend to be all over the place. I work two jobs and go to school fulltime but if by chance I’m not doing one of those things you will most likely find me with either a book or camera in hand. I love photography and the beauty of words even more. I also love spending time with my friends and family, I’m not the going out to club kind of girl although I will every now and then that being said New York City is full of so many incredible spots outside of the club scene that there is always something to do.

  • How did you come up with your blog name?

I’m a complete optimist, if you can’t tell, but I’m also a hopeless romantic that still believes in fairytales and the wonders of love. A lot of my friends always point out the way no matter the situation I happen to find something good in it and how utterly hopeless I was. One day as I was bouncing together words, the hopelessly optimistic was born and it all just clicked.

  • Is there anything that you want to change or do this year?

I actually did a post on this! For 2014, I’ve decided to just be. Instead of wanting to or trying, I’m going to breathe, love and just simply live. I’m an overachiever that wants everything to work out perfectly but that’s impossible so instead of stressing it, I’m just going to let things happen the way they’re suppose to. Last year, I got so caught up in life; I forgot to live so there’s no way I’m letting that happen again.

  • If you had a chance to choose how you lived, how would you live your life?

I want to believe that I’ve mastered the balance vital to my life at the moment. I’m the happiest I’ve ever been and love the life I lead. It’s crazy and all over the place but it’s mine and it has made me into me so I wouldn’t change that.

  • What would you do if you had a million dollars?

I’d finish paying off my college tuition and take my parents on their dream vacation. Plus do something special for my brother and sister. Then use the remaining money to travel to third world countries and fund the production of my own magazine. I hope to start my own international magazine to connect with girls around the world who are undermined and devalued and make them realize they’re amazing, incredible people.

  • 5 words that describe you!

Dreamer, bookworm, independent, compassionate, and passionate.

  •  Favorite bloggers/YouTubers?

I’m obsessed with Zoella as both a blogger and youtuber.  I love her personality. I’m also a huge fan of Kandee Johnson, Sprinkle of Glitter, and Judy from itsjudytime. I’m also a huge fan of the YouTube music scene and avidly follow Chester See, Kurt Hugo Schneider, Alex Goot, Megan and Liz as well as Kina Grannis, Sam Tsui and Against the Current. Yea, I’m a bit YouTube obsessed!

Ngozi’s Questions:

  • What’s your favorite fast food restaurant?

I’m not that crazy about fast food and try to avoid eating it. Yet, I’d probably go with Panera. Their broccoli and cheddar soup is to die for and I love their smoothies during the summer.

  • Are you a day or night person?

I’m a complete night owl! It’s when I think best and do my best work that being said I’m also a morning person and love to catch the sunrise. Which leads me to believe I’m just an insomniac.

  • Favorite clothing line/department store?

I’m a shopaholic! I love everything but for me I think it’d come down to H&M and TJ Maxx. They both always have great deals and I love the rings from H&M.

  • Where’s the one place in the world that you’d love to travel to and why?

I love traveling and immersing myself in new cultures so picking just one is extremely hard but I’d probably go with India because I’d love to see the Taj Mahal and just get a chance to experience that side of the world.

  • What’s something that you hate that most people love?

Reality TV, it just doesn’t make sense to me.

  • What are 3 goals that you have in life?
  1. To be happy
  2. To travel
  3. To start my own magazine
  • How would you describe yourself in 10 words or less?

A life loving, soul-searching dreamer, nerd and bookworm. That was a lot harder then I thought.

  • What’s your favorite TV show and why?

At the moment, I’m loving Grey’s Anatomy. I just watched the first 8 seasons on Netflix so it’s safe to say I’m obsessed. The quotes at the beginning and end of each episode are incredible plus the storyline is amazing. The writers of the show are gifted!

  •  What’s your favorite song of all time?

It’s so hard for me to pick a favorite because I’m into all kinds of music. It honestly depends on my mood but one that I have on repeat at the moment is let her go by Passenger. The lyrics to that song are so beautiful and definitely connected with me.

  • Would you rather blog with no pictures but with words or with no words, but with pictures?

This is so hard for me! The photographer side of my brain is like pictures all the way but I’ve always been a writer even when it was just scribbles that only I would see. So I’d have to pick words, writing is like breathing to me. It keeps me sane.

My nominations:

Stephanie Plowman

Poppy Whitehorn

Clare Coyle

Elle Bolger

Allie

Megan Parker

Karleigh Corridon 

Tabitha Beckett

Alyssa Portillo

My questions:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. If you could never fail, what would you do?
  3. Favorite quote?
  4. Instagram or Twitter?
  5. What are you looking forward to most in 2014?
  6. What are you most proud of?
  7. Are you an introvert or extrovert?
  8. If you were invisible for a day, what would you do?
  9. Favorite place?
  10. How do you stay inspired?
  11. Favorite bloggers and YouTubers?

Love Nora

11 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Great responses! H&M and Forever 21 are always my go-to stores at the mall. I love “Let Her Go”! You should check out Jasmine Thompson’s version, beautiful. (:
    nostalgicteens.blogspot.com

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award! | fearfightingfairey

  3. Pingback: Liebster Award! | Fairey Clarey

Leave a Reply

