2014: The Year of Being

Image

Every year, we go through the same cycle.  Deciding to change another bit of our lives but as time flies, we slowly stop and no longer tend to care for these resolutions we’ve made, these changes we’ve decided to undertake. Instead we fall back into our comfort zone—the routine we’ve honed over years of practice and one we feel a little odd and out of place changing. Change isn’t easy. It’s difficult and strange feeling but that doesn’t mean it’s bad or not meant to be. In fact it might just be the thing you need and are searching for.

I can make a list of all the plans I’ve made to be happier, to be healthier, to be more present and aware, to be more creative and artistic and on it goes. Yet, as I was getting down to it and really taking a look at my life, I realized that instead of wanting to be or trying to be the key is to just simply be. Making plans and lists are helpful but when all we do is plan, we forget to live in the moment and do exactly what we want to. Our words hang in the air waiting for someone to care.

This year, I’m not planning, devising or organizing. I am simply being. I am taking each day as it comes, trying my hardest to be the best version of myself that I can possibly be. I’m tried of envisioning what I want my life to be and instead I am set on making it happen. I don’t know what 2014 holds for me but I’m ready to face it. No more excuses stopping me from chasing my dreams and turning them into a reality.

My favorite quote has always been Life is like a cube of sugar, it crumbles so easily but never fear tasting it. Lately, it has been on repeating floating through my mind, binding itself to my ideas for not only the New Year but all the others to come. It has become my life’s mantra, what is yours? 

4 thoughts on “2014: The Year of Being

  1. Pingback: 5 Lessons I Learned This Summer | Hopelessly Optimistic

  2. Pingback: 2015: The Year of Doing | Hopelessly Optimistic

Leave a Reply

